Welcome to

Historic Houses & Castles

Brochure Contact Us

Historic Houses & Castles

Discover the rich and vibrant history of the UK by visiting a fantastic collection of historic houses and castles Why choose Johnsons

Barnsdale Gardens in Rutland

Mon 19 Feb 2018: We travel to the little county of Rutland, to find Barnsdale Gardens, built by the gardener Geoff Hamilton.

Duration 1 Days

Browsholme Hall With Lunch, Lancashire

Wednesday 21 March 2018: We head for the market town of Clitheroe for a short coffee stop before arriving at Browsholme Hall

Duration 1 Days

Buckingham Palace with Lunch Cruise

Tues 8 Aug, Weds 16 Aug, Thurs 24 Aug & Weds 30 Aug 2017: Explore the impressive Palace and marvel at the splendid state rooms, then enjoy a River Thames lunch cruise with great views of London

Duration 1 Days

Chartwell House (NT), With Lunch

Weds 27 Sept 2017: Visit this wonderful National Trust property in Kent, which was once the family home of Winston Churchill.

Duration 1 Days

Chatsworth House in Derbyshire

Thurs 7 Sept 2017: Join us for a tour of Chatsworth House, set in the very heart of the Peak District National Park.

Duration 1 Days

Chavenage House

Thurs 28 Sept 2017: Explore Chavenage House a wonderful Elizabethan house of mellow Cotswold stone, and the nearby market town of Cirencester.

Duration 1 Days

Christmas at Rockingham Castle with festive lunch

Tues 5 Dec 2017: Step back in time and see the preparations for Christmas 1881 and enjoy a Yuletide Cream Tea

Duration 1 Days

Dorchester Abbey & Rousham House

Mon 24 July 2017: Visit the picturesque village of Dorchester on Thames, home to the largest public building in south Oxfordshire

Duration 1 Days

Henley on Thames & Greys Court

Tues 19 Sept 2017: Explore the market town of Henley on Thames followed by discovering the Tudor mansion, Greys Court (NT)

Duration 1 Days

Highclere Castle

Tues 2 May & Tues 22 Aug 2017: Visit this stunning location for Downton Abbey and enjoy the Egyptian exhibition.

Duration 1 Days

Kelmscott Manor With Lunch & Buscot Park

Thur 17 Aug 2017: Explore the inspirational home of William Morris, the english textile designer, artist & writer follwed by a visit to Buscot Park (NT)

Duration 1 Days

Newstead Abbey

Mon 5 Mar 2018: We visit Newstead Abbey, a beautiful historic house set in the heart of Nottinghamshire.

Duration 1 Days

Powis Castle & Llanfair Railway

Fri 1 Sept 2017: A steam train experience followed by a visit to the Baroque castle of Powis

Duration 1 Days

Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire

Fri 18 Aug 2017: Explore the magical Victorian landscaped gardens and set your eyes on the exceptional architecture & art collections

Duration 1 Days