Welcome to

Historic Houses & Castles

Brochure Contact Us

Historic Houses & Castles

Discover the rich and vibrant history of the UK by visiting a fantastic collection of historic houses and castles Why choose Johnsons

Adlington Hall & Buxton

Tues 13 June 2017: We visit the historical spa resort of Buxton, one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Peak District famed for its natural spring water and magnificent Georgian architecture

Duration 1 Days

Buckingham Palace with Lunch Cruise

Tues 8 Aug, Weds 16 Aug, Thurs 24 Aug & Weds 30 Aug 2017: Explore the impressive Palace and marvel at the splendid state rooms, then enjoy a River Thames lunch cruise with great views of London

Duration 1 Days

Chartwell House (NT), With Lunch

Weds 27 Sept 2017: Visit this wonderful National Trust property in Kent, which was once the family home of Winston Churchill.

Duration 1 Days

Chatsworth House in Derbyshire

Thurs 7 Sept 2017: Join us for a tour of Chatsworth House, set in the very heart of the Peak District National Park.

Duration 1 Days

Chavenage House

Thurs 28 Sept 2017: Explore Chavenage House a wonderful Elizabethan house of mellow Cotswold stone, and the nearby market town of Cirencester.

Duration 1 Days

Croft Castle & Berrington Hall (NT), Herefordshire

Fri 16 June 2017: This excursion visits two of Herefordshire’s finest National Trust owned properties.

Duration 1 Days

Dorchester Abbey & Rousham House

Mon 24 July 2017: Visit the picturesque village of Dorchester on Thames, home to the largest public building in south Oxfordshire

Duration 1 Days

Hampton Court Palace in London

Mon 17 July 2017: Discover the splendour of Henry VIII's favourite royal residence. Immerse yourself in the sights and sounds this Palace has to offer

Duration 1 Days

Henley on Thames & Greys Court

Tues 19 Sept 2017: Explore the market town of Henley on Thames followed by discovering the Tudor mansion, Greys Court (NT)

Duration 1 Days

Highclere Castle

Tues 2 May & Tues 22 Aug 2017: Visit this stunning location for Downton Abbey and enjoy the Egyptian exhibition.

Duration 1 Days

Kelmscott Manor With Lunch & Buscot Park

Thur 17 Aug 2017: Explore the inspirational home of William Morris, the english textile designer, artist & writer follwed by a visit to Buscot Park (NT)

Duration 1 Days

Newstead Abbey

Mon 5 Mar 2018: We visit Newstead Abbey, a beautiful historic house set in the heart of Nottinghamshire.

Duration 1 Days

Osborne House (EH) Isle of Wight

Mon 10 July 2017: Osborne House gives you a unique glimpse into the cherished home and private lives of Queen Victoria, Prince Albert and their nine children

Duration 1 Days

Painshill Gardens & Strawberry Hill House

Thurs 29 June 2017: Experience two 18th century creations in one day, A restored Gothic Castle, and Painshill, a landscaped garden created by the Hon Charles Hamilton.

Duration 1 Days

Powis Castle & Llanfair Railway

Fri 1 Sept 2017: A steam train experience followed by a visit to the Baroque castle of Powis

Duration 1 Days

Tissington Hall

Mon 5 June 2017: The house stands in the middle of an idyllic estate village, and features a fine collection of old Master paintings, as well as attractive oak panelled rooms.

Duration 1 Days

Tyntesfield (NT), Somerset

Fri 13th May 2016: Visit this spectacular Victorian country house in Somerset.

Duration 1 Days

Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire

Fri 18 Aug 2017: Explore the magical Victorian landscaped gardens and set your eyes on the exceptional architecture & art collections

Duration 1 Days

Woburn Abbey & Ascott House (NT)

Fri 14 July 2017: Your visit includes Woburn Abbey, steeped in a vast amount of history, Ascott House (NT) a half-timbered Jacobean farmhouse.

Duration 1 Days